Deprecated: Unparenthesized `a ? b : c ? d : e` is deprecated. Use either `(a ? b : c) ? d : e` or `a ? b : (c ? d : e)` in /home/sciehar4/ on line 446
CSPC | Youth Excellence Award


5th Annual Science Policy Awards of Excellence - Youth Category

The 5th Science Policy Awards of Excellence – Youth Category was presented at the 11th Canadian Science Policy Conference, CSPC 2019. The Award Ceremony took place on November 14th, 2019 at the CSPC 2019 Gala Dinner; the awards were presented by Donna Strickland, Nobel Laureate in Physics 2018, and Mehrdad Hariri, President and CEO of the Canadian Science Policy Centre.

The recipient of the 5th Award was Emily De Sousa ,for her proposal titled: "Eliminating Seafood Fraud:  A Fishy Approach to Food Policy”,

The two runners-up were Mahzad Sharifahmadian for her proposal titled: “Scientist entrepreneurs – the engines of economic growth” and Sabrina Bedjera for her proposal titled: “A holistic approach to measuring drinking water success in Indigenous communities”.

2019 CSPC Youth Category Awards - Winners
To read the winning proposals and the recipients'’ biography please click on the links below.
2019 CSPC Youth Category Awards Selection Committee
CSPC would like to extend very warm thanks to the distinguished members
of our 2019 Awards Selection Committee for their valuable time, commitment
and enthusiasm for encouraging young people to consider how they might
contribute to evidence-based policy.
Naveed Aziz

Co-Chair, CSPC Awards Committee
Chief Scientific Officer, CGEn, Canada

Sandra Noël

Co-Chair, CSPC Awards Committee
Manager, Innovation Canada, ISED

Jessica Kolopenuk

Winner of 2018 CSPC Youth Award
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Native Studies, University of Alberta

Isabelle Lacroix

École de politique appliquée, Université de Shebrooke

Maureen Kearney

Director, Office of Science, Policy & Society, AAAS

Alice B. Aiken

Professor Vice President Research & Innovation, Dalhousie University

Raghwa Gopal

President & CEO, Innovate BC

Paul Dufour

Senior Fellow Institute for Science, Society and Policy, University of Ottawa

Proposals are reviewed blind and the Committee enjoyed learning about the incredible
diversity and passion of the young people who applied to the Award once the winners had been selected and the applicants were revealed.
A special thank you to Naveed Aziz and Sandra Noël, Hamed Babazadeh, Shelly Deeke, Majid Naji, and Jenny Smith for all of their work on making this award possible.